A Real Update!

In the past few weeks I’ve been able to spend a lot of time on the internet, but most of it has been over sporadic periods of time and one-handed (love my iPhone!), which doesn’t lend itself to blog updating.

SO! Finally, here’s my long-delayed update…

We had the immense pleasure of welcoming Cailyn Moriah into this world on September 6, 2010, which very aptly happened to be Labor Day. She was 8lb 11oz and 20.5 inches long. The nine hours of labor before she came were quite possibly the most intense of my life. But the time since she’s been here has been some of the most wondrous, joyful, and thrilling!

She’s been a rather happy baby. It took her a while to get her days and nights straight, and she still has a few kinks to work out, but overall she’s eating and sleeping (and pooping) fairly well! And it amazes me how those few activities can so quickly eat up a day! It also amazes me how much there is to think about and figure out and keep track of. Who knew raising a tiny human could be so complex? I’m glad God gives it to us one step at a time…

I’m also so very thankful that God provides the nurturing skills for parenting. Neither Sam nor I were huge “baby” people, but loving and taking care of our daughter has come so naturally for both of us.

And although the sleep deprivation keeps us both pretty wiped out, we’re getting back into the swing of things and it feels good to be regaining some normality again.

As my previous post evidences, I’ve garnered a little inspiration to dabble in poetry again (and hope to continue to rekindle that.)

And hopefully as future posts will show, I’m getting really excited about crafting for this little one. I have all sorts of projects in mind and although getting started may be slow (especially since one of my first projects is to organize my craft area), I really look forward to accomplishing a good number of them in the near future.

As I mentioned at the beginning of my post, I have had a lot of “down-time” to spend browsing the internet (I need to keep my mind occupied during all those hours of nursing!) And since Facebook can get really old, really quickly, I’ve been catching up on a lot of crafting blogs that I follow. That’s definitely good for the inspiration!

One thing that I was disappointed to catch just a little too late was Elsie Marley’s Kid’s Clothing Week Challenge. And although I missed the official week and am hesitant that I can find a full hour each day for a week where an infant is not demanding my attention in some way, I want to participate in the spirit of the challenge! Especially since I already have a couple things in the works… nothing too big, right now. But enough to transition me back into sewing mode!

So to further commit myself to it and give myself some accountability, here are some “before” pictures…

1 Comment

Filed under Crafty

One response to “A Real Update!

  1. Charity

    I never saw this post until now, April 19th….when I was clicking on other things on your blog!

Leave a Reply

