Blade Runner, Beauty, and Craft

Texture.
Design.
Attention to detail.

These are a few of the things that draw me to crafting. A few of the things I strive after, anyway. I think I do more admiring of them than practicing of them, though.

Those three things are also the reason I am currently mesmerized by Blade Runner. I must admit, I didn’t add it to our Netflix queue. Most of the sci-fi and noir films are Sam’s choice. Tonight he was in the mood for a “darker” film so we’re watching Blade Runner for the second or third time.

Often, especially later in the evening (not to mention late in my pregnancy), I find myself distracted when watching movies (even my own picks). Not because they are bad or even disinteresting but because I’ve lost the ability to maintain a respectable attention span.

But tonight (other than typing so I don’t lose my thoughts) I’ve hardly been able to draw my eyes off the screen, even to check Facebook (yes, I’m usually that pathetic.)

Even the first scene of Blade Runner, that is relatively bland in terms of color and physical content, is captivating. The close-ups on the equipment, the twitching pupil. That’s only the beginning of the attention to detail that the movie gives. Whether it’s things I’d rather not give much attention to (slime in the bathtub or filth under the lining of a drawer) or intriguing things that I’d like to look at more (a paper crane or matchstick man) I immediately feel a part of the world and like I can know (and want to know) the world.

That’s not to mention the excellent texture and lighting throughout the film. Whether it’s blue or yellow lights streaming through windows, rafters, you name it, or rain pouring in a crowded, futuristic Chinatown, or the steam and smoke lingering in many of the scenes, adding to the mysterious and intentionally noir-ish presentation of the film.

It’s tantalizing. A treat for the eyes, even if not always traditionally “beautiful.” There’s always something to look at. Always something new and intriguing to see and to draw you further in.

And that’s what I love about a good craft, be it a hand-stitched quilt or a hand-torn t-shirt.

My personal challenge in that is to exercise the immense diligence and dedication required to create masterpieces of design, detail, and texture. Which means overcoming my tendency to want to finish a product as quickly as possible and to take the easy ways out in so doing…

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafty, Literature

Leave a Reply

