A rose by any other name…

So amazingly, astoundingly, stupendously, Sam and I chanced upon a name we both agreed upon!

So far, every name that one of us has come up with, the other has shrugged off if not downright cringed at.

A sinking nervousness was beginning to build that our child’s name would be some compromise between our preferences or a name only one of us would really like and the other would just have to get used to.

So just to get a feel for where we stood, I wrote down a list of 10-15 names that Sam or I had come up with at some point or another and I asked Sam to rate each name on a scale of one to ten.
And then I did the same.
And mind-blowingly, he rated one of my favorite names a nine!! I almost didn’t believe him at first and tried to get him to admit that he had rated it that high just to make things easy or to make me happy. But he wouldn’t.

We’re still leaving the name-door open just in case another great option pops up, but for now, we have a first name!

And that, my friends, was a great close to my “first” Mother’s Day.

Now it’s just a matter of finding a middle name. :-P

Oh… and… for those wondering… we’ll be announcing the name in seventeen weeks (give or take).
And no sooner. ;-)

Proper names are poetry in the raw.  Like all poetry they are untranslatable.” 
– W.H. Auden

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

